Skip to content

the whole enchilada

February 12, 2009

i’m having one of those days where i could just eat non-stop and never get full…horrible! what do you guys eat on days like this? i need a healthy meal that is SO filling that i won’t even think about snacking.

i piled the food on my plate today. i had spinach, black bean, corn, and cheese enchiladas with extra corn on the side plus cabbage with a dollop of greek yogurt.  after i finished, i really felt like i could go back for a second plate! maybe i should have had more black beans on the side…

dsc031631

i also snapped a picture of the filling as i was assembling them…

dsc03159

my healthy fixes were making them veggie (obviously), using corn tortillas, and making my own enchilada sauce by blending together salsa, tomato paste and water. actually, i have no idea what’s in real enchilada sauce so i can’t say if that’s any lower in calories…but it seemed better than buying a canned sauce…

my dessert was a minneola (sp?) which is supposed to be a tangerine/grapefruit hybrid…but it just tastes like a tangerine that looks like an orange with an outie belly button. along the same lines, has anyone tried a grapple? i slow down whenever i see them but haven’t tried one yet.

dsc03167

okay i’m going to chug water and stay away from the kitchen for the rest of the night. one more day til the weekend! YAY!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. innascribbles permalink
    February 12, 2009 10:08 pm

    Wow, I’ve never heard of a grapple before- sounds awesome! Where have you seen them?

    Those enchiladas look really tasty!

  2. February 12, 2009 11:58 pm

    Oh my gosh, I saw grapples, but never bought them. Haha, I found them a little odd, but I was intrigued by it. I see them time to time now, but never picked them up yet. LOL I like apples.

  3. February 13, 2009 7:38 am

    I refuse to try grapples – no genetically-modified fruit for me, thanks!! 😉

  4. February 13, 2009 9:38 am

    Your dinner looks awesome–homemade Mexican is SO much healthier than when you eat out! I totally feel you on the hungry day! I say, just eat!

Leave a Reply

