Skip to content

cleaning up

February 17, 2009

i hope everyone had a great 3-day weekend, i know i did! i’m definitely feeling very monday-ish today, but i’m also excited to get started on a new week. i’ve had plenty of treats this weekend and enjoyed a few meals that gave me a break from the kitchen but i’m so ready to get back to cooking my meals where i don’t have to wonder exactly how much butter went into something 😛

i didn’t make my usual meal plan this week, but i have a few ideas to use up what’s in the fridge and quite a few leftovers to finish as well.

my recent yogurt + raspberry preserves obsession left the milk i bought last week untouched. the chobani was calling my name but i knew i had to use up the milk before it went bad. for breakfast, i had puffins and skim milk with orange slices. i’ve already finished half the box, but this was the first time i had puffins with milk. they stayed crunchy til the very last bite, which is probably a good thing for most, but i like it when the cereal at the bottom of the bowl gets soggy so i’m going to reserve puffins for snacking from now on!

img_0155

i had a nice lunch of leftovers which cleared up some tupperware for future meals. i swear there is a tupperware and silverware theif in my apartment because i’m so sure i started off with much more than i currently have.

lunch was golumpki, multigrain rice w/ tomato sauce and the same salad as yesterday with grilled chicken, pear, green beans and gorgonzola.

img_0158

i woke up feeling really refreshed and ready to get stuff done. my top two on the list are to get my apartment back in order, and to lose some damn weight already! i’m on a cleaning spree since i can’t seem to focus on much when i’m surrounded by a mess. tonight or tomorrow, i plan on reevaluating my diet and food choices, and setting up an exercise schedule because i’m so ready to see some progress when i step on the scale.

speaking of which…how often to do you weigh yourself? i’ve been on both ends of the “scale” where i’ll go months without checking as well as those times when i’ll check three times a day. lately, i’ve been trying to keep it down to a few times a week (so i don’t get obsessive about every fraction of a pound) and if i’ve been eating “badly” i give myself a few good days to even it out before i step on the scale again.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 3:45 pm

    Oh puffins! =D
    And oh my gosh, lunch looks amazing.

  2. February 17, 2009 3:52 pm

    mmmmm, golumpki. and puffins. have you dug into the peanut butter ones yet? They’re amazing.

    To answer your question, I usually weight myself once a day but, like you, I give myself a few days to “recover” if I’ve had a “bad day” since I don’t want to get disappointed by a small gain and give up. I’m trying to scale (haha, scale) that back to maybe once or twice a week since it makes me freak out unnecessarily but no luck so far. Grrrrrr will power and self control.

  3. February 17, 2009 3:59 pm

    I’m a once a week kinda girl. I do my weigh in on Saturday morning, nekkid and “empty”. I’m consistent, if nothing else!

    Plus, since it’s Saturday morning, I control my badass self on Friday nights, and then indulge (if I’m going to) on the weekend and have five whole days for damage control.

    There IS a method to my madness.

  4. February 17, 2009 4:19 pm

    i’m so glad that i met you at dinner last night because otherwise i would have never found your awesome blog! I love it!

  5. foodsthatfit permalink
    February 17, 2009 5:26 pm

    I used to have a scale at home but got rid of it b/c I was becoming too obsessed with it. Now I weigh myself maybe once every couple of weeks at the gym.

  6. February 17, 2009 6:16 pm

    I’m with you and Inna-I weigh myself every morning when I can, unless I’ve had pasta the night before! I don’t think there is anything wrong with daily weigh-ins if it doesn’t affect your state of mind. Unfortunately it’s starting to drive me a bit crazy so I’m trying to cut back.
    Love the look of that salad 🙂

Leave a Reply

