Skip to content

pumpkin success!

February 25, 2009

a nice walk around the neighborhood and some quality time with the bf has left me in a much better mood πŸ˜€

dsc00315

we even got some laundry done which is always a good thing!

dsc00321

and to further cheer me up, tommy took me to the korean market cus he knows how much i love grocery shopping! i took the opportunity to stock up on tofu. they always throw free little yogurt drinks in the bag. πŸ™‚

dsc00339

when we got back home, i shared this little guy with tommy and got started on dinner…

dsc00328

this is the steamed pumpkin after a quick blend…part of me wanted to bake a PIE…

dsc00330

but i knew veganomicon’s pumpkin baked ziti with caramelized onion would be even better!

doesn’t that just sound really good? it also has cashew “ricotta” in it…

dsc00345

served with a “simple arugula salad” as suggested in the book.

dsc00351

this meal was SO delicious! it tasted like “fall.” super creamy and comforting. i especially loved the caramelized onions throughout- next time i will make my own breadcrumbs though (which the book recommends)- the crunchy bits were perfect with the creamy ricotta.

i made tiny changes to the recipe according to what i had, but nothing major (for example i used cashew butter instead of raw cashews for the ricotta) and will definitely be making this one again.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 10:12 pm

    Wow that sounds really really delicious. I am definitely putting it on my to-make list.

    So glad you’re feeling better! Funks can be hard to get out of (I’ve been in one for a while now) but for me it’s usually my girlfriends dragging me out with them that makes me feel better. Unfortunately for me, most of them are in CA 😦 I think the deal is a funk makes you want to stay in and be unproductive and feel more sad since you’re unmotivated, but that just puts you in a bigger funk. So if you can force yourself out despite not wanting to go it usually helps. At least for me.

  2. February 25, 2009 10:49 pm

    Oh wow, that looks amazing! Delicious job!

    And that is so cool they throw in those yogurt drinks. What do those taste like? When I was in HK, my cousin always drank those, but I never got around to trying them. I drank my vitasoy instead, -lol-.

  3. February 25, 2009 11:49 pm

    sharon- vitasoys are much yummier! these taste like a syrupy yogurt flavored water. the amount of sugar cancels out any probiotic benefits, imo…i like to use them to sweeten smoothies though.

  4. February 26, 2009 4:26 am

    I know what you mean when something tastes or feels like a season. People look at me like I’m nuts when I say stuff like, “I’m craving summer” or “this reminds me of fall.” I really love seasons!
    Yay for stocking up on tofu–nice big blocks, too!

  5. Nicole permalink
    February 26, 2009 6:24 am

    Oh my gosh, I need to make that baked ziti! It sounds so good and looks delicious!!!

  6. February 26, 2009 8:17 am

    Gorgeous scenery and pumpkin!!

  7. February 26, 2009 12:30 pm

    i had those yogurt drinks sooo much when i was little im sick of it =P

    my boyfriend said he drank them too much to the point where he had a nosebleed. yeah gross and weird haha

  8. lilveggiepatch permalink
    February 26, 2009 12:55 pm

    I am DROOLING over that pumpkin ziti. That is DEFINITELY the next thing I’m making from the book. Sweet lordy.

  9. February 26, 2009 3:26 pm

    i JUST got vegonomicon yesterday and now i want to make this ziti ASAP!! πŸ™‚

  10. February 26, 2009 6:12 pm

    YUM! Your dinner looks absolutely divine – I love pumpkin!

    Your photo of the setting sun is beautiful… and you’re too cute atop the washing machine πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. pumpkin eater «

Leave a Reply

