Skip to content

shape up!

February 26, 2009

i had another korean raw food smoothie this morning before doing some “sexy arm” exercises (i love these tear out cards!)

dsc00358

arms are definitely my biggest trouble spot and of course one of the last places i lose weight. i can deal with tummy flab (spanx!) but there’s nothing you can do when a dress/shirt wont fit around the arms- it sucks!

where are the first and last places on your body that you notice progress?

the first place i see weight loss is my face and then boobs! which are both good and bad. with face, my cheekbones show up, and a bit of the double chin goes away but i also start looking my age. i’m telling you, “baby fat” does wonders for wrinkles! and then there are the boobs! when i was heavier, they got ginormous and i received too much unwanted attention because of them. seriously- creepy guys on the T (subway) + big boobs on a little asian girl = NOT GOOD at all. i have SO many stories- when i think of them now it’s a miracle i continued to live in allston/brighton (which is creepy guy central) and went outside at all! so with the boobs, i wouldn’t mind them being smaller as long as they’re bigger than my tummy! plus big boobs don’t help with the clothes not fitting my big arms thing.

please throw any arm slimming tips/tricks my way!

back to food: after a little counter climbing (i really need to buy a step stool), i brought down the oats cus i was ready to give oatmeal another try!

dsc00364

this lunch was inspired by lauren’s breakfast since i had some leftover pumpkin. this is my first attempt at stove top oats and i stirred like crazy trying to get them the right consistency. this bowl was the best i’ve had yet, BUT i did add a generous amount of brown sugar AND cinnamon sugar so i still need to work on enjoying a “healthy” bowl of oats. i also added a spoonful of pb and some banana which worked wonders for the taste and texture. so while not perfect- i actually saw the light with these oats- one day i will LOVE oatmeal. i just know it!

dsc00372

dsc00374

it looks like some rain clouds are headed my way so i’m gonna get in a quick walk while i can! see you later!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2009 5:01 pm

    aww you’re too funny!! I totally know what you mean with the shirt around the arms – there’s nothin you can do!!! I hate when some companies make giant shirts around the mid-section but tiny arm spaces. GRRRRR. I used to be addicted to egg tarts too until I got tired of them back in Hong Kong, but now that I hardly ever get them (and the bakery i go to is awesome) i just devour ’em whenever possible. hehe

  2. February 26, 2009 5:27 pm

    i lose face weight first too!! i think it’s a korean thing cause my sister is exactly like that too! my thighs are the last thing i lose =(

    i think the best way to lose arm weight is to swim! i was in the swim team in high school and my arms were the skinniest then!

  3. February 26, 2009 6:22 pm

    The pumpkin oats look great! Your pic of reaching for the oatmeal is hysterical… I bet the more you experiment with oatmeal, the more you’ll enjoy it. I’ve found that cooking the pumpkin and banana right in with the oats results in both great texture and flavor. I love all of the possibilities for mix-ins and toppings!

    I hear ya on arm toning – I’m focusing on getting mine into tip-top shape for my wedding in May. I find it difficult to firm up my triceps, so I’m paying extra attention to ’em by doing push-ups, tricep kickbacks & pulldowns, and “skull crushers”. I’m also extending the amount of time I spend weight lifting. I’m currently loving the On Demand weight workouts, so if you have Comcast, check it out!

  4. February 26, 2009 6:27 pm

    Last place to go for me has been my tummy and those little bloobs of fat on my inner thighs. You know the ones. They rip holes in your pants. Grrr.

  5. February 27, 2009 6:48 am

    It took doing a lot of cardio for my arms to start to slim down, but I still struggle in that area. I gain weight in my face, too…maybe it’s an Asian thing! My face is so round that it naturally looks fuller anyway. Korean raw food smoothie sounds like it could be tasty!!

Leave a Reply

