Skip to content

work, eat, work

March 5, 2009

breakfast was inspired by a infomercial i watched last night (the one with montel and the blender). this blended beauty had strawberries, red cabbage, carrot, and a splash of orange juice to thin and sweeten. i was going to throw some beet stems in there too, but i chickened out…

dsc00718

i got straight to work this morning and i’ve been getting a lot done. i finished more today in a few hours than i have all week- amazing what i can do with a little focus! i didn’t want to break to make lunch, so i snacked on an apple pie larabar to hold me over. this was SO cinnamon-y. i’m probably the only one, but i’m not a cinnamon fan. i like it when it’s blended with other flavors and it’s a secondary spice but never when it’s the prominent flavor. for example: pumpkin pie= yum!, cinnamon roll= bleh! 🙂

dsc00730

around 2:30, i finally stopped for a real meal. i beefed up some of tom’s leftover annie’s shells with steamed broccoli and roasted beet. beets are SO yummy- i can’t believe i’ve been misisng out on this yummy veg for so long.

dsc00726

i also made myself a little snack bowl of cereal, peanuts, and m&m’s. honestly i just wanted a big bowl of m&m’s, so this was a compromise but i ended up lovin the salty and sweet combo so much that i really want another bowl- eek!

dsc00733

maybe later though- i gotta get more done before tom gets home! i’m amazed at my discipline today- maybe it’s the yoga? 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. innascribbles permalink
    March 5, 2009 8:06 pm

    Man you are brave with that smoothie! I am too scared to use any veggies in mine so far. How did it turn out?

    Oh, and I love sweet + salty combos. It’s a dangerous cycle though, one triggers me wanting the other which trigger me wanting more of what I started with, etc 🙂

  2. March 5, 2009 9:55 pm

    Oh my gosh, I want those colorful M&M’s! I have never seen those festive colors!

    And great job with the smoothie, haha, love your inspiration for it! So cute!

  3. March 5, 2009 10:43 pm

    inna- the smoothie was good! the fruit and veggies kinda cancel each other out, so it’s not really sweet but it’s not “green” tasting either. i grew up with my mom’s weird veggie juice/smoothie concoctions so i might just be used to them.

  4. March 6, 2009 10:10 am

    I wish I liked beets! I know they are so healthy but I just can’t get into them.
    Your dessert is a great compromise!

Leave a Reply

