Skip to content

i <3 my mommy…and free ice cream

April 21, 2009

shortly after i finished my last post, the power went off in our apartment. it was out for a while, so i decided to just take a nap πŸ™‚

i must have been tired, because i felt like i could sleep for hours and hours. i only woke up to go to ben & jerry’s for free ice cream cones! what’s a better motivator than free ice cream? yeah!

i munched on the rest of my pita chips before we left…this is all the hummus that’s leftover after eating all the pita chips!

dsc03141

before ben & jerrys, we stopped by dunkin’ donuts for fifty cent iced coffees!

dsc03132

i got mine with skim and sugar and gulped down half before i remembered to save room for ice cream! they had a limited (but still good selection) menu of free flavors at ben & jerry’s and we were handed a printout as we walked in the door to browse while in line. umm…the line moved lightening quick though, and i felt so overwhelmed when i had to order. you’d think i was making a life and death decision here! haha! i ended up with a coconut seven layer bar in a cone. i was so beyond happy with my choice- this flavor is amazing! coconut flakes, walnut pieces, chocolate ribbons, graham cracker chunks…i bet i’m missing something…maybe toffee? it was packed with goodness!

there was not much savoring though…i’m completely inept at eating ice cream out of a cone, so i had to down it before it dripped all over my shoes.

dsc03135

after all that, dinner was light. i made open faced hummus sammies with the leftover roll and enjoyed a glass of v8 with it.

dsc03151

i just got the bestest phone call from my mom and sister raving about the cookies i sent them. my sister’s favorite was the white chocolate macadamia, and my mom loved all of them. i actually didn’t talk to my mom, but i could hear her doing that mom thing where they talk really loudly in the background “tell unnie (your sister) that she should sell them!” “tell her i could eat the whole box!” aren’t moms the best? i talked to my sis for a bit about our favorite subject: food! and she told me they were on their way to costco to buy whole wheat bagels and lox. apparently, my mom started craving it after watching an episode of barefoot contessa. she goes through month long food obsessions, where she will make a variation of the same thing almost everyday. i actually think of my mom whenever i see the “green monsters” that have take over the bloggie world because sheΒ  once went thru a green smoothie/juice phase. most of them were good, but some of her combos were a little too creative. ahh, can you tell i miss my family?! i used to be fine with once or twice a year visits, but i’ve been getting more and more homesick as i get older. it must be the whole maturing thing πŸ™‚

how often do you see your parents/family?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 11:11 pm

    AWWH, I’m so jealous of your ice cream! There isn’t a Ben and Jerry’s where I am living. And oh, I want to try your cookies! You are stellar in the kitchen Sue!

    Haha, I miss my family so much. I talk to my sister on a daily basis, and my parents on a weekly basis. But lately, I’ve been getting phone calls from my mommy every two days or so, since there are only two weeks till I go back home. ❀ ❀ ❀

  2. lesouefsbrouilles permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:52 am

    unni, ice cream mah shee keh mu guh suh?

    my konglish is horrible i hope you understood that haha.

    • April 22, 2009 12:10 pm

      hahaha! μ•ˆλ…•! (it took me forever to type that!)
      geuleh, mahsheekeh muhgutdah~

  3. April 22, 2009 5:24 am

    I totally get on food kicks like your mom! I just wish they were more for green monsters and less for trail mix πŸ˜‰
    Your cone looks so delicious…creamy and cold! I wish I could have had one!

  4. April 22, 2009 7:26 am

    Now that we’re back in the northeast, I see my parents more frequently, but still not frequently enough! I see my brother – who lives in NM and is moving to Austin – only a few times a year 😦 I really wish I could see him more often too.

  5. April 22, 2009 7:50 am

    Mmm, hummus!!

    Hang in there with missing your family!!

  6. April 22, 2009 8:48 am

    So jealous of your BJ ice cream. We do not have one nearby where I live in Texas. I missed my family so much when I was in college and they were only a 3 hour drive away. Now that I’m back, I still onlye see them once a week b/c school and work get in the way.
    Have a good Wednesday!

  7. April 22, 2009 11:59 am

    You have no idea how jealous I am of your Ben & Jerry’s. I seriously cannot believe I missed that!

    On the other hand, great blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

