Skip to content

mushy rice

April 25, 2009

my afternoon snacks included a samoa, or two…

dsc03236

and some sweetened dried mango.

dsc03237

i was hoping to make thai fried rice for dinner. the rice cooker i have is a baby-sized one that makes 2-3 servings, and i wanted to make enough to have some leftovers to freeze, so i decided to give it a try on the stove top.

…that didn’t really work out for me. it just turned into a big pot full of mush. luckily i like mushy rice… but man, i was really looking forward to thai fried rice! i need to remember to steal a bigger rice cooker next time i visit my parents!

dsc03254

i had some of the rice with some stir fried veggies for dinner. and munched on a couple more pieces of mango for dessert. so not as exciting! oh well, i think i’m going to attempt some kind of blended rice porridge for breakfast. i’ve never had rice porridge american style…so i’m kinda excited!

are u a stove top-er or a rice cooker-er?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 7:12 am

    Sadly, I do not have a rice-cooker. I’m usually a stove toper rice-cooker, but I’ve been known to resort to the microwave rice-in-a-bag method every once in a while. Kashi makes some decent varieties.

  2. April 25, 2009 11:22 am

    oh my goodness. I hate mushy rice! that’s why I don’t really like the short-grain rice, I prefer long, fluffy, “individualized” rice like basami or jasmine. But an american-style rice porridge? I’m so excited too to see what you come up with!

  3. lesouefsbrouilles permalink
    April 25, 2009 11:42 am

    i LOVE mushy rice! that’s cause i love jook. i love both stove top and rice cooker. when my mom makes stove top we have nodengjee! (sp?) so that’s the best part. your rice looks like risotto though!

  4. April 26, 2009 12:56 pm

    I miss my rice cooker! It seems that when I’m craving rice the most is always the time when I mess it up…do you find that?!

Leave a Reply

