Skip to content

sugar n salad

May 16, 2009

we had a nice and summery dinner tonight. baked breaded drumsticks, steamed corn, and a crisp salad topped with cucumbers, strawberries, blackberries and feta. this meal gets me so excited for summer and going berry picking at the local farms!

DSC04742

a few bites into my meal, i decided that this would be a better idea:

DSC04748

i was right 🙂

i baked tom peanut butter cookies (alton brown’s recipe). these have a ton of butter and like two tons of sugar…he was very excited to see them.

DSC04750

i made peanut butter and jelly cookies with a quarter of the batter. i just cut some raspberry preserves into the batter with a knife, and baked ’em the same as the regular cookies.

DSC04752

tom ended up working super duper late, but i really wanted to eat dinner with him….so of course i ended up nibbling on a few cookies while waiting….they’re good, if you’re wondering 😀

please help! does anyone else have seasonal allergies? i have them pretty bad right now! i’ve just been suffering through them so far since i don’t like to take anything that may make me drowsy but i don’t think i’ll survive working in the garden this weekend without at least taking an OTC. any med recommendations…or natural remedies? my mom swears by accupuncture for her allergies…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 12:50 am

    Sorry about the allergies i have them a little bit, but never enough where I take anything for it! I’m no help.

    On the plus side, your salad and cookies look freaking delicious!

  2. May 16, 2009 1:36 am

    Your cookies look so good! I take claritin for my seasonal allergies, which have mainly passed…it’s the only thing that really helped me.

  3. May 16, 2009 7:12 am

    Cutting in the preserves is a fantastic idea – looks yummy!

  4. May 16, 2009 7:13 am

    sorry that you’re having seasonal allergies.. I don’t know what would help you…. but hope u get better soon!

  5. May 16, 2009 10:16 am

    EEek, sorry about the allergies. I don’t have any as of yet, and I do hope I don’t develop them any time soon. 😛

  6. May 16, 2009 2:49 pm

    acupuncture? well, at least that’s natrual! I used to go for acupuncture a lot to “kick up my appetite.” didn’t help one bit, but of course it was a mental thing as well.
    PB cookies look damn good!

  7. May 16, 2009 3:17 pm

    Actually, I just heard something that might help you!

    You need to find unpasteurized honey that comes from your area. Take a teaspoon a day. Why? Because the bees land on all the flowers in your area, and you build an immunity to your local pollens!

    It has to be unpasteurized, and it has to be local.

  8. May 16, 2009 6:04 pm

    My husband swears by his Netty Pot when he’s congested. I’d rather suffer. But worth a try.

    I love your first pic! Beautiful!

  9. May 18, 2009 3:35 am

    I like the big salad…I think I might have done that too 😉
    ‘m going to do a search for the Alton Brown cookie recipe. PB + sugar seems like a can’t-mess-up recipe to keep onhand!

Leave a Reply

