Skip to content

kashi mayan harvest bake

May 29, 2009

this was my dinner:

DSC05070

i think frozen meals come out tasting a little better when heated in the oven, so when tom decided to bake a frozen pizza tonight, it was a the perfect opportunity to try out this kashi meal that’s been in my freezer for so long.

here’s what the “harvest bake” was comprised of:

DSC05072

i stopped reading the box after seeing that it had plantains (cus really, does it get any better than plantains?) so i ate the whole thing without really knowing what i was eating. honestly, it wasn’t bad, but i probably would not buy this again. it was just too frozen tasting for me…like the sweet potato and the polenta were that mushy watery texture that only comes from reheating, and the overall taste was pretty mild…i didn’t taste any of that spicy ancho sauce. my favorite part of the meal were the plantains, and i’d probably in love with everything else if someone had made this for me with fresh ingredients.

and while we’re being so honest…i also had a slice of the pizza tom had baked for his dinner! yum πŸ™‚

DSC05073

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 9:04 am

    I’ve read similar dissatisfactory reviews about that Kashi dish. I’ll be sure not to buy it now on my next trip home when I plan to go Kashi Crazy!

  2. eatinnyc permalink
    May 29, 2009 3:10 pm

    Just found your blog and I really like it πŸ™‚ I totally relate to you with the weightloss and the motivation…I have been at a plateau after losing about 13lbs for 5 months. So basically, I haven’t been trying 😦 I am desperate to lose the last approximately 10lbs i have to lose in order to feel the most fit and excellent I can be. On another note you’re gorgeous and you have fab fashion sense πŸ™‚ Also, with the Kashi dishes I like the shrimp one (i forget the name) I always put it over a bag of steamed veggies though, it doesn’t fill me!
    xoxo
    sara
    http://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

