Skip to content

will work for chocolate

June 1, 2009

i had a long day and tomorrow’s gonna be even longer 😦 having to pay rent really sucks sometimes!

my day started off uneventfully. i had a plain nf yogurt, 1/4 cup bear naked granola and sliced strawberries for breakfast.

DSC05164

i did my usual lounging around the house and then i decided to check out gigs on craigslist since my freelancing hasn’t been going so hot lately. i found an event that needed a korean speaker and gave them a call not expecting much. they wanted me to start working ASAP. *sigh* i was looking forward to laying out by the pool today, but they insisted that i needed to come in today. i told them i’d catch the next train in…

i didn’t have time to fix lunch at home, so i grabbed a kashi chewy trail mix bar and an apple at 7-11 where i bought my train ticket…

DSC05167

i then sat for three hours at a desk and did nothing but pray that no koreans would walk by (honestly, my korean sucks and i don’t feel comfortable speaking it to anyone who isn’t related to me!) i know i should be thankful for any opportunity to bring in some extra cash, but going all the way into boston for three hours is not worth it! i really tried to get out of it today, but they insisted. tomorrow is the big day where i have to sit at that desk for 11 hours– which i’m already dreading.

when i got off at 6, i grabbed some snacks at the train station since i had just missed a train and it would be a couple hours til i could have dinner 😦

DSC05170

the m&m’s were very necessary…i added them to my “health” mix to make it a fun mix πŸ™‚

DSC05172

i finished about 2/3 of the bag. when i got home, i fixed myself a quick sandwich.

1 egg over easy, avocado slices, and lettuce on whole wheat.

DSC05175

i’ll be MIA tomorrow since i have to get up at a miserable (for me) hour and i won’t be home til late. please please keep your fingers crossed that the day passes quickly with little (or no!) korean speaking. there is one good thing i’m looking forward to (other than getting paid): free lunch bag! i heard today’s was a wrap, fruit, pasta salad and a brownie. mmm…brownies πŸ™‚Β  chocolate is worth going into work for, right?

i better get to bed now…i don’t think my usual 2AM bedtime is gonna cut it tonight!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. lesouefsbrouilles permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:50 am

    I’m exactly the same way! I had to speak to every Korean that didn’t speak english at my work and some asians that my coworkers thought I somehow could communicate with, haha

  2. June 2, 2009 7:42 am

    I love the fun mix πŸ˜‰ Those dark chocolate M&M’s are seriously good.
    I hope you have a good day tomorrow. I think it’s awesome that you speak a second language at all! My mom begged my dad to teach us Cantonese but he didn’t and now I am a half Chinese person who speaks zero Cantonese…except my favorite foodie items!

  3. June 2, 2009 7:56 am

    The first thing I thought of when I saw the title was that there are ALOT of things I would do for chocolate. Scary…a girl’s got to have her fix!

  4. Lea permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:07 am

    Goodluck @ work. Sometimes it literally pays to know a second language. Is it a translating gig?

  5. Katharina permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:49 am

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you girl!!

  6. June 2, 2009 10:24 am

    Awh, hope all goes well. I speak Chinese, and I can speak it easily with my friends, but when it is with older individuals, I guess the conversations are more formal rather than casual, so I have a hard time coming up with the right words in my head. LOL Anyways, go KOREAN LOL

  7. June 2, 2009 2:53 pm

    Good luck with your job! Hope no one talks to you πŸ™‚

    M&Ms are often necessary. Especially dark chocolate M&Ms.

  8. June 2, 2009 9:14 pm

    haha, you’re so cute with your fun mix.
    urgh…long hours at jobs sure sucks…are you allowed to bring a book to read or something?

Leave a Reply

