Skip to content

dollars and cents

June 5, 2009

sorry, this is another day after post. i went to bed early last night for once!

yesterday’s breakfast was this amazing orange marmalade filled brioche that came packaged with the day old loaf that i bought at flour bakery.

DSC05197

a decadent breakfast, but worth every last calorie.

i didn’t have much to choose from when it came to lunch options…an egg sandwich seems to be my go-to empty fridge meal…this one was eaten open faced with avocado, and 1 egg, 1 egg white fried

DSC05214

we went grocery shopping before dinner…but by the time we got back, i was tired…so i threw together this quick bowl of refried beans, salsa and avocado. on the side, i had some tortilla chips and cucumber slices for scooping, and one dino chicken nugget.

DSC05220

here are some of the groceries…i left the “tom only” stuff (like hot dogs and soda), and the toiletries out…

DSC05216

i took about an hour sorting through weeks of coupons that tom’s mom gave me when we last visited, browsing the weekly flyer, and writing out my grocery list. it paid off because we saved $31! $18 from using coupons..and the rest from buying sale items.

DSC05223

i just noticed that he charged me for nectarines, when i bought peaches which were about $1/lb cheaper 😦 boo, i hate when that happens with produce (and it happens often!) especially since i try to buy fruit that’s on sale when in actuality i’d love to stock up on pricier fruit like mangoes, donut peaches, ranier cherries, etc!

do you guys check your receipt before leaving the store? i don’t…but maybe i should start…i’m always noticing little mistakes when i get home. i’d totally go to the customer service counter and ask for my 60 cents! that’s a whole other peach, right? …or like 1/2000th of an LV bag!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 11:31 am

    Wow, awesome savings! I do check my grocery bill, my mom taught me to do so when I was younger!

  2. June 5, 2009 1:06 pm

    I ALWAYS check the receipt. One time, the cashier charged me for 6 (!!) jars of salsa when I only bought 2!!

  3. June 5, 2009 1:56 pm

    I should definitely check receipts more. I only do it occasionally.
    That brioche sounds wonderful!

  4. Katharina permalink
    June 5, 2009 3:42 pm

    Your breakfast looks SOOOOOOOOOOOO good!

    I can’t believe you saved $18! That’s incredible. I never check the receipt, but I should! Sometimes I’ll watch them ring my items up. I should start though.. who knows how many times I’ve been overcharged.

  5. lesouefsbrouilles permalink
    June 5, 2009 5:57 pm

    those cashiers always act like we don’t notice! i always say stuff cause it adds up after awhile

Leave a Reply

