Skip to content

yelp toga party @ ivy

June 10, 2009

last night, yelp threw an old school toga party at ivy restaurant in downtown boston. complimentary wine from ruby wines and ms walker were poured, and the most delicious italian style tapas were passed. i had great company, and it was a fun and yummy (albeit late) tuesday night.

DSC05442

free booze > me being a lightweight. i drank a couple glasses of sauvignon blanc by ms walker and a rose (i think). i also had a shot of st.germain.

i ate a fair share of these arancini (breaded rissotto balls)

DSC05436

and lots of these amazing beauties: a kettle cooked potato chip topped with a slice of seared steak and blue cheese sauce. (OMG!!!)

DSC05437

i also had a couple flatbread crisps topped with tapenade.

here are some yelpers in their togas:

DSC05301

so fun! yelpers are so creative! (sorry, no toga for me, though i did try to accessorize appropriately)

i gave tom a break that night, and my dates were nay and the lovely inna. (i think we look cute in this pic, so i’m sharing it!) they deserve extra friend points for staying out so late with me on a weeknight!

DSC05435

here are my meals from the day beforehand:

green monster (spinach, banana & soy milk- i need to get me some more jay robbs! i’m thinking chocolate next)

DSC05410

lunchie: bean & cheese burrito

DSC05413

afternoon snack: some of this YUMMY ice cream! my wisdom tooth has been slowly growing in, and this last week has been painful! ice cream requires no chewing and seems to help numb the pain. šŸ™‚ whatever works, right? haha, like i really need an excuse to eat ice cream.

DSC05414

dinner: taco salad before leaving for the event.

DSC05418

thank you for your comments and feedback regarding my “good bad” post. looking back at what i wrote, i should have put a little more thought into my words. you guys are completely right in saying that the smoothie i had was not a balanced dinner, and pizza (especially homemade on ww dough) is NOT a bad meal. i guess “good” and “bad” more describe my mindset while eating those meals. my meals are by no means a model to be followed. if anything, this blog is just a visual food diary of a girl trying to lose some weight and get herself together. i make lots of mistakes! sometimes i eat too much, sometimes not enough. sometimes i skip breakfast, sometimes i want ice cream for dinner (these last 6 months are probably the first time in maybe the last decade that i’ve consistently eaten 3 meals a day- thanks to this blog keeping me accountable). i’m trying so hard to eat “the right way” and still lose weight. i’ve already confessed that i’m afraid i’m getting caught up in everyone else’s diets (as opposed to what i enjoy and works for me). to be honest, pre-blog i probably would have just skipped dinner that day, i was feeling lazy and “blah”, but i wanted to have a dinner to post, so i made a quick smoothie. it’s not the best meal, and yes, i can do better, but please know that i’m trying guys!

please don’t take the above as a “rant,” i’m thankful for and welcome all feedback! i know there are lots of blogs out there by women who have achieved their weight and health goals, they have great advice, delicious recipes, and lots of useful content. in comparison, i don’t know what my blog offers (other than toga party pics!), so i am thankful that you guys are reading, commenting, and cheering me on!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2009 2:41 pm

    The toga party looks so fun! You are the best dressed blogger I know Sue, if you ever come to Vancouver, you need to take me shopping. I am super hungry for dinner no matter what I ate that day (ie, all you can eat sushi mid-day, a lunch at 4pm, etc) so I was just worried you weren’t getting enough to eat šŸ™‚

  2. June 10, 2009 2:54 pm

    a. are you kidding? your blog offers YOU, an intelligent, super fun, and witty girl. I love reading it! And you know what? The blogs where girls are eating all perfect are hard to relate to for me- it’s nice knowing I am not alone in my struggles.

    b. most of the pics from the night look so cool! the background looks all glow-y and pretty. Minus the pic of you and me where I look half asleep šŸ™‚ But I had so much fun- thanks for inviting me!

  3. lesouefsbrouilles permalink
    June 10, 2009 4:34 pm

    at least your diet is way better than mine! i still struggle with the junky fast food =(

  4. June 10, 2009 6:58 pm

    Hey! Your blog is so cute! I keep hearing/seeing Jay Robb protein powder… does it really taste better, or are the ingredients better? Currently I use Designer Whey, since that is readily available and cheap. Wanted to hear your opinion. Thanks!

    • June 11, 2009 12:52 pm

      i’ve never tried designer whey so i can’t really do a comparison but i’m a big fan of jay robb’s whey protein powders- they really do taste good!

  5. June 10, 2009 9:19 pm

    Hey sweetie, you don’t have to prove anything to us. Everybody’s bodies are different. We can’t all be eating “good” all the time. It’s ok to diet, but don’t let an occasional indulgence cause you to skip a meal or something. Losing weight is good, but please don’t take it to the extreme! Well, I mean, I have personal experience.
    gosh…the party looks amazingly FUN!! And such great foods!

  6. June 10, 2009 10:32 pm

    Looks like you had a great time! Your dress is cute! Try not to worry about the whole good/bad thing. We all struggle with it. I do feel more accountable due to my blog, but I also feel happy that there are a whole group of girls like me who are trying to be healthy but aren’t perfect.

  7. Katharina permalink
    June 11, 2009 1:01 pm

    Hey girl! It looks like the toga party was fun šŸ™‚

    I can see how it would be hard getting caught up in everyone’s eating habits and feeling like you have to eat the right way. Every day is different, and some times you feel like having something and some times you don’t. Just keep your head up.

    I remember when I got my wisdom teeth pulled out I overdid the ice cream lol. I ate so much that it burned the top of my mouth and it was painful to eat ANYTHING! Bah.

    Looks like you’ve had a lot of delicious eats! Breaded risotto balls mmmm

Leave a Reply

