Skip to content

bite-sized

June 11, 2009

wow this week is flying by for me! friday and saturday i’ll be in western mass. tom has to attend some training thing out there tomorrow, and we’ll be staying overnight at his parent’s home since his cousin is having a high school graduation party in the area on saturday.

i’ll have to keep myself busy while he’s at training tomorrow…so far, i’m thinking mani/pedi and some mall time…sounds good, right?

getting back to today…i had another green monster morning. this one was a lil different…it had the usual handful of spinach as well as soy milk, but instead of a banana, i used half apple and some avocado. i really like the addition of avocado to these smoothies, it makes them nice n’ creamy and gives ’em a little bit more staying power.

DSC05463

for lunch, i made a bean, cheese & lettuce burrito and cut it up into easy to eat bite sized pieces. very necessary, since my mouth is feeling much better than yesterday but not 100% yet.

DSC05467

my lunch was light, so i had my dinner a bit earlier than usual. i plan on having ice cream for dessert later when i’m bound to get hungry again.

i’ve been wanting to make a yogurt bowl with the kashi honey sunshine cereal i bought last week, but i was afraid the cereal would be too big and crunchy for my sore gums and teeth. well, i opened the box and tried some, and they are a lot smaller and airy-er than i thought. i made a yogurt mess with 3/4 cup yogurt, 1 apple chopped into v.small pieces, a big handful of cereal, and a sprinkling of granola.

pictured is probably half of that mixture. i didn’t want to put too much in the bowl in case my mouth didn’t cooperate. but despite the crunchies, the small bite-sized pieces were painless to eat. i don’t think i’ve ever put apple in yogurt before (i usually stick to berries) and i enjoyed it a LOT, so you will be seeing this combo a few more times in the near future 🙂

DSC05471

i’ve already got my mind on dessert but i’m going to try to hold off for another hour. i have ice cream sandwiches, and mint n’ chip in the freezer, but it’s also been a while since i treated myself to some black cow (the ice cream shop across the street) hmm…decisions, decisions! what would you do?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 6:39 pm

    Mani/pedi sounds like a great plan to me! Your mini-burritos are too cute! I’m curious now about adding avocado to my smoothies or maybe oatmeal. I’ve seen this combo before and I might have to actually try it soon.

  2. Emily permalink
    June 11, 2009 6:50 pm

    fyi, I tagged you for a blogger chain thingy

    http://eatingchalk.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/chain-gange/

  3. June 11, 2009 10:01 pm

    I love your burrito! What is a black cow? I’ve always been an ice cream sandwich fan.

  4. lesouefsbrouilles permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:11 pm

    man you are eating alot for someone who had their wisdom teeth. i only had yogurt, jello and jook, i lost 5 lbs in 2 weeks but i gained it back when i started eating again

    • June 11, 2009 10:24 pm

      oh i didn’t get them pulled! i put it off and now it’s starting to grow in and it hurts 😦

  5. Katharina permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:34 pm

    I would definitely go for the ice cream shop across the street! I would savor it more and just feel more satisfied. I’m not sure how the weather is where you are, but if it’s a nice summer night you it would be nice to step outside of the house 🙂

  6. June 11, 2009 11:22 pm

    If that avocado adds more staying power, then I must try it :). Those little pinwheels are adorable.

  7. June 12, 2009 6:52 am

    I really like the Kashi Honey Sunshine cereal – the perfect crunchy addition to a yogurt bowl!

  8. June 12, 2009 1:55 pm

    I love your little Hello Kitty spoon! 🙂 I also eat my yoghurt mess with a colorful plastic spoon, it’s the best way to eat it!

  9. June 12, 2009 3:19 pm

    hmmm i believe that cereal is rather disappointing to me. It is simply a cap’n crunch but more expensive right?!?! I dunno, it’s GOOD but…not fantabulously amazing. 😛 maybe i have too-high expecations, but they should have been great for your jaw?? Since they were so little? Have a great weekend Sue!!

  10. June 13, 2009 6:58 pm

    i hope you’re having a lovely weekend, sue! all of those ice cream options sound delicious. what did you pick??

  11. June 15, 2009 1:33 am

    Your little burrito rolls look delish!

    i hope youre having a fabulous weekend with lots of shopping and your mani/pedi was great!

Leave a Reply

