Skip to content

cruise recap day two: formal dinner

September 8, 2009

night two on our cruise was the formal dinner in the dining rooms. i embrace any opportunity to put on a pretty dress so i looooved this night! i chose an old new years dress (i refrained from shopping my heart out before this trip- i’m proud of myself!) the sequins just screamed out cruise to me :D.

DSC07500.JPG

*sparkle sparkle*

before dinner we stopped by the captain’s welcome thingie…mostly for the free champagne 😉

DSC07510.JPG

after a long day in the sun…the bubbles went straight to my head. no complaints about that! haha. we learned that our captain was swedish, and the first woman to command a major cruise ship. i thought that was pretty neat-o…girl power!

after a short speech by the captain, we headed to dinner.

i don’t know why i snapped a pic of the vitality menu…this is supposed to be the lighter, healthier menu…they had a different one every night.

DSC07514.JPG

i started with the orange carpaccio. yum…feta. my favorite 🙂

DSC07515.JPG

my entree was the golden sea bass…it was okay…i didn’t really like the sauce and ate about half.

DSC07518.JPG

i got the cherries jubilee for dessert. i look like i’m about to pass out into my dessert- i was so tired and the wine didn’t help!

DSC07523.JPG

DSC07521.JPG

here’s carlos with more tricks and brainteasers for us:

DSC07520.JPG

our tablemates were all young couples from ca, ct, and quebec. my first time meeting french canadians! for some reason, that was notable to me. 😛

once we got back to our stateroom…we were greeted with our first towel baby of the cruise!

i just about died of happiness!

DSC07538.JPG

DSC07575.JPG

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 8:55 pm

    Love your sparkly dress! Champagne goes right to my head too, but I love it! 😉

  2. Katharina permalink
    September 8, 2009 11:14 pm

    Awesome outfit!!! Champagne is delicious. I know one guy that drinks it like water.

    I love the towel baby pictures.. the family pictures :p hehe

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  3. Nay permalink
    September 8, 2009 11:14 pm

    those towels are totally freakin’ me out man!

  4. September 9, 2009 8:39 am

    You look so glamorous! I need to go on a cruise again. Dressing up is so much fun, guys just don’t understand!

  5. steve permalink
    September 15, 2009 11:03 am

    hi looks good
    goin on your cruise in 2 weeks did people wear formal black tie 4 dinner on formal dinner ngt.

    • September 17, 2009 12:52 am

      hey steve, i didn’t see anyone wearing black tie attire…our waiter told us the guys were okay to wear polos if they wished…but most men at least wore button down shirts.

      • steve permalink
        September 19, 2009 9:23 pm

        thanks looks like i leave me black tie tux at home and wear my normal suit. now was nassau and key west..x

  6. September 26, 2009 11:10 pm

    ahahah I loved all the towel animals on our cruise. One night I came in to a monkey hanging from the ceiling ! 😀

Leave a Reply

