Skip to content

party in the usa: road food

October 4, 2009

since my road trip recaps are pretty long and picture heavy and i’m not including my “daily bites,” i thought i’d do a post dedicated to road food.

i’m happy to report that despite a week on the road, none of my meals came from a drive thru!  so what did i eat? in the mornings i ate the free “continental” breakfast at the hotels- usually something carby and a piece of fruit, lunch would be eaten in the car (see below), and i’d sit down for dinner at a restaurant.

to keep my food from spoiling, i had a large cooler in the trunk, and a small cooler in front for “easy access.” i found myself snacking a lot out of boredom so it was important to keep the foods somewhat healthy…i also stocked up on kombucha when i could find it to keep away the tummyaches that i usually get from irregular eating while traveling.

here are some of the foods i packed (or bought along the way):

  • trader joe’s bite size everything crackers
  • trader joe’s three layer hummus (i didn’t LOVE this…it just kinda tasted like taco seasoning)
  • almond butter
  • bars! (larabars, purebars, kashi bars, etc)
  • instant oatmeal packets
  • cheese
  • apples, grapes
  • baby carrots, sugar snap peas, and mini cucumbers (to eat with hummus)
  • ezekiel whole grain tortillas (to make hummus and almond butter wraps)
  • korean snacks (soy chips and crackers)
  • korean rice cakes
  • kombucha
  • canned ice coffee and starbucks double shot espressos (very necessary!)

DSC09403 DSC08824

DSC09043 DSC09157

DSC09588 DSC09100

DSC09573 DSC08933

DSC08916 DSC08917

DSC08594 DSC08599

my mommy packed me steamed kabocha and inari the morning i left. ❤

DSC08624 DSC08638

and my sister and i made our own trail mix (thanks to the amazing bulk bins at henry’s– best grocery store ever!- and some trader joe’s goodies- like the mini meringues!) which i snacked on the entire week. this was a very “sweet mix” which came in handy when i needed sugar/energy fixes during late night driving!

DSC08334 DSC08331

DSC08861

and of course there were a bazillion starbucks stops. oh man..there are not enough starbucks in the middle of the country when you are used to seeing one around every block!

DSC08238

liquid crack…yum! 🙂

how do you eat on road trips? do you pack your own snacks?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 6:09 pm

    That trail mix looks delicious – great idea to bring on a road trip!

    I like carrots + hummus on road trips. And Starbucks of course 🙂

  2. October 4, 2009 8:44 pm

    Haha, I love that pic with the claws 😉
    I need to make my own trailmix. They stopped carrying my favorite one at TJ’s and since then I keep thinking I need to make my own, but end up being too lazy. That’s for the reminder. One day I’ll get to it. Great road trip snacks!!

  3. Katharina permalink
    October 4, 2009 11:22 pm

    Ohhh my gosh! Those rice cakes look soo good. And for real.. the three-layer hummus from TJ’s is the bomb.com. And your trail mix- love the white chocolate chips 🙂

    Let’s see.. I pack fresh fruits and veggies (apples, bananas, and carrots are easy), nuts, bars, crunchy munchies like chips or something, uhhh I usually pack some sort of non-perishable vegetarian form of protein. For instance, there’s this one brand called Nile Spice and they’ve got a great lentil soup, and you only need to add hot water.. everyone has hot water!

    p.s. BUGLE WITCH FINGERSSSSS

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  4. October 10, 2009 12:03 pm

    I think everything you packed for your roadtrip is similar to what I would pack! Lots of veggies to munch on…hummus, wraps, trail mix, granola bars 🙂 Yum yum.

Leave a Reply

