Skip to content

sweet pea

October 21, 2009

today was a nice day, wasn’t it? i’m so glad mother nature finally realized that snow in october is crazyness. tomorrow is going to be seventy degrees which means i have no excuse not to go out and get my to-do list done. and then friday night we leave for vermont. tom showed me the b&b we’re staying at and it is all sorts of adorable. i’m so excited.

anyway…back to the present. i skipped breakfast. sorry…really need to stop doing that.

for lunch i ate leftover eggplant mapo tofu in lettuce wraps.

DSC00057

that’s one wrap pictured. i ate more than that, obviously.

my afternoon snack was plain chobani with nature’s path cereal and a spoonful of apricot preserves. gotta get my sugar fix in.

DSC00059

i also ate a slice of birthday cake at some point in the day. i may have had a second sliver, but the rest is in the freezer so i can’t go crazy.

DSC00054

and dinner was a favorite…split pea burgers!

DSC00060

these are actually split pea and lentil burgers that i made with leftover homemade soup that i had in the freezer. i added some whole wheat bread crumbs, brown rice, and sauteed veggies (carrot, onion, green beans) to the drained soup and mushed it all into these delicious little patties.

DSC00062

if you haven’t already, you need to make your own veggie burgers…it’s so easy!

DSC00061

mmm! tommy claims to like these better than “real” burgers.

and OMG! speaking of that boy, guess what he brought home today!?! it’s something i’ve been searching high and low for…

ooh the suspense!

DSC00065

edy’s pumpkin ice cream!!! they finally have it in our stop & shop!

i’m too full for a bowl right now, but i did have a taste!

DSC00063

it’s everything i imagined it to be 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 11:47 pm

    drooling over your tofu and veggie burgers!!!!!!

  2. October 22, 2009 8:22 am

    Tofu lettuce wraps are divine especially from PF Chang’s!

  3. Katharina permalink
    October 22, 2009 9:46 am

    B&Bs are so exciting! My parents are coming up to visit me for Thanksgiving (I’m all grown-up now -tear- lol). Anyway, my dad wants to go up in the mountains and book us a B&B somewhere. Last time we did that we stayed in the middle of nowhere in an old mill/cabin… maybe it was more of a Cabin & Breakfast lol. The host lived in a separate house, but still made us breakfast! He made us French toast with a baguette candied walnuts and something else I forgot, but it was incredible.

    I love making my own veggieburgers! And I’ve seen that ice cream too. I wasn’t sure if I should get it or not 😉 But I think my mind has now been made up.

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  4. October 22, 2009 2:09 pm

    Happy belated girl!

    That cake looks slammin. Love it. And yay for homemade veg burgers.

  5. lowandbhold permalink
    October 22, 2009 2:19 pm

    Your tofu sounds so yummy!

  6. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    October 22, 2009 7:33 pm

    mapo tofu in lettuce wrap? such a genius idea!!! 😀 love it!

  7. October 22, 2009 9:10 pm

    yummy birthday cake!!!!

    Ughhh I so wish I could get Edy’s ANYTHING here…pumpkin icecream sounds divine! I will have to settle for the pumpkin pie icecream I got from marble slab 🙂 Looks like a yummy day of eats ❤

Leave a Reply

