Skip to content

home for the holidays

November 5, 2009

hi there! i never know whether i should start my posts with a greeting or just jump right into it. what do you do?

wednesday started with one of my all-time favorite breakfast combos: greek yogurt and a crumbled muffin. in this case, trader joe’s greek yogurt and homemade pumpkin muffin. i tell ya, it’s like cake and icing.

DSC00756

i skipped a “real” lunch…i don’t know what i was doing but i got caught up in it. i had a couple spoonfuls of almond butter and some snacks that escaped the camera.

DSC00785

my dinner was really easy to make and so delicious. i heated a microwavable pouch of tasty bite mushroom takatak that i got from the vegetarian food festival and ate it over spinach and microwave organic brown rice. i have another pouch of the takatak which i’ll review in the future. i love reading reviews on other blogs, so i want to write more structured review posts as opposed to just throwing in “it was good” here and there.

DSC00791

earlier in the day, i was feeling a bit grumpy so i did some “cheer myself up” things which included putting on a face mask, and reading old magazines while sipping eden roasted green tea.

DSC00802 DSC00796

i also went grocery shopping!

i’m super duper broke so i was trying to put off buying groceries for another few days but i caved. i need fresh fruits and veggies in my life, yo!

DSC00809

my favorite impulse buys (can you tell i got suckered in by all the holiday displays?)

west soy chocoalte peppermint stick soy beverage and whipped cream! i don’t know what soy beverage really is but i have high hopes!

DSC00811

stove top stuffing…in whole wheat. that totally means this stuff if healthy, right?

DSC00810

cabot cheese to remind me of vermont and asparagus probably from somewhere far far away.

DSC00812

i’ve been feeling homesick lately and feeling sad i won’t be going home for thanksgiving. i think i was trying to make up for it by purchasing holiday-y foods. i’m also bummed about missing the foodbuzz festival this weekend but if i’m paying money to fly out to cali, as much as i love blogging and y’all…i’d rather be visiting my family. it’s funny cus when i was in college, sometimes i’d visit just once a year, and even that seemed like too much. but now, everyone is so much older, especially my grandparents, and i’m afraid that i will regret not spending enough time with my family. shows how much more mature i am now! anyway, it’s not too bad…i’ll be spending thanksgiving with tom’s family and i’m visiting my own for christmas. 🙂

how often do you see your parents? and how often do you want to see them?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 10:07 am

    I see my parents VERY often 😀

  2. November 5, 2009 10:21 am

    I love Stove Top!

    I don’t see my parents nearly enough! Usually I visit them once or twice a year and they visit me once or twice. I’m super bummed about not visiting them for Christmas. My hubby and I alternate years so this year Thanksgiving is with my family and Christmas is with his.

  3. November 5, 2009 10:33 am

    You look so cute with your green mask on!! I thought I was the only one who did this but I look ridiculous! I see my parents every weekend or at least try to.

  4. November 5, 2009 11:45 am

    Lovin those avocados! I see my dad every other month. But I’m moving and will now be 45 mins from him, so I suspect I’ll be seeing him heaps more!

  5. lesouefsbrouilles permalink
    November 5, 2009 11:52 am

    i totally do the whole face mask while reading old magazines! we are so much alike!

    i see my parents once a week even though we live together and that’s enough for me

  6. November 5, 2009 3:51 pm

    I didn’t know Stove Top made a whole wheat version! YUM! I’m definitely going to search for it now!

  7. November 5, 2009 5:40 pm

    ooh i’m definitely overdue for a facemask 🙂 thanks for reminding me! and you got lots of goodies from the store! love it!

Leave a Reply

