Skip to content

persimmon

December 1, 2009

i’m sure you already know that it’s persimmon season!  my house (and most korean homes) are filled with them this time of year.

we eat two kinds…i’m sure they have “official” names…but i’m calling them the asian kind (left) and the american kind (right).

the american version is more squat in shape and eaten firm. my mom peels and eats these all day long like apples.

my favorite is the asian kind which is left out to ripen and eaten when the insides are soft and mushy.

i usually just pop a ripe one into a bowl and dig in with a spoon but the other day, i learned that this “mush” makes a delicious jam for my morning toast 🙂

so sweet and yummy…like honey! they are also good frozen- they turn kind of slushy and are a fun healthy dessert 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 10:10 am

    I’ve been curious about these babies. They looked like tomatoes so I didn’t know if they were sweet or not.

  2. December 1, 2009 2:11 pm

    ooo i love the mushy persimmons too!!

  3. December 3, 2009 4:00 am

    HONG SAM!!!! I LOVE them!!! Where did you find these? I can’t find them anywhere..boo hoo…

  4. Chau Chu permalink
    December 7, 2009 7:15 pm

    my mom has a ton of them , the american kind, or another name for it is fuyu, from her garden. We visited her recently and brought back a dozen. The “Asian” kind, ive had a bad experience with it since it was not completely ripened when I ate it. Bleah!

Leave a Reply

